Archive for January, 2017

January 19, 2017 – Coral Gables, Florida – Coral Reef Senior High School congratulates Santiago Guzman, a graduating senior in the Visual and Performing Arts Academy, as he was awarded  a scholarship from the Eta Delta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha, a University of Miami fraternity. This competition was limited to minority male high school students and the speech prompt was: “Chastity in 2016: What is the role of Black men in upholding the respect of womanhood in today’s society?” Santiago was selected as a finalist to participate in their annual high school male oratorical contest as they want build a competitive applicant pool from the talented and highly-qualified young minority males throughout Miami-Dade County in 9th through 12th grades.

The chapter hosted MLK Oratorical Scholarship Competition at the University of Miami on January 18, 2017.

The purpose of this event is to honor the legacy of our dear brother Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. by inspiring young men of color to articulately express themselves on the social issues that plague our generation. Finalists were asked to recite their pieces before a panel of expert judges. The fraternity provided finalists a tour of the University of Miami, showing them that a college education is accessible to them and highlighting positive young men of color working to uplift our community.


Photo: Santiago Guzman


January 19, 2017 – Miami, Florida – The Academy of Legal and Public Affairs at Coral Reef Senior High is proud to recognize the Students of the Month for November and December. They were selected by their excellence contributions service to the Academy and the Florida Public Service Association. The students are: Helena Brito, Joshua DeFreitas, Alyssa Martinez, Jessica Rivera, and Daniela Rodriguez.

“FPSA is a Career Technical Student Organization (CTSO) recognized by the Florida Department of Education as the CTSO that provides coherent and rigorous content aligned with challenging academic standards and relevant technical knowledge and skills needed to prepare for further Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM) education and careers in the Law, Public Safety and Security and Firefighter career cluster; provides technical skill proficiency, and includes competency-based applied learning that contributes to the academic knowledge, higher-order reasoning and problem-solving skills, work attitudes, general employability skills, technical skills, and occupation-specific skills, and knowledge of all aspects of the Law, Public Safety and Security career cluster. This organization offers a broad foundation of STEM knowledge and skills to prepare students for employment in network support services positions.” FPSA will continue to accelerate students in “mastery and command of subject matter” to promote STEM related skills in the classroom and at state conference/competitions.”


Photo right to left: Joshua DeFreitas, Helena Brito, Alyssa Martinez, Daniela Rodriguez, Jessica Rivera, and Mr. Thomas Ennis, Principal.

December 15, 2016 – Atlanta, Georgia – Congratulations to Coral Reef Senior High School seniors: Daniel Crair, Bruna Decerega and Rachael Osman as they have been selected as a Semi-Finalists in the 2017 Coca-Cola Scholars Program. There are 1,914 students selected from nearly 86,000 applicants from across the country to continue through our selection process.

They are currently submitting their Semifinalist applications to be reviewed by the Program Reading Committee in January. After this review, 250 Semifinalists will advance as Regional Finalists, with 150 becoming Coca-Cola Scholars. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation supports more than 1,400 college students each year, with annual scholarships of $3.4 million through two nationally recognized programs on behalf of the Coca-Cola System. Scholarship recipients excel academically and in service to others. Most Coca-Cola Scholars share a passion for social justice and many have overcome tremendous challenges to pursue their dreams.

THE COCA-COLA SCHOLARS PROGRAM SCHOLARSHIP is an achievement-based scholarship awarded to graduating high school seniors each year. Students are recognized for their capacity to lead and serve, and their commitment to making a significant impact on their schools and communities. 150 Coca-Cola Scholars are selected each year to receive this $20,000 scholarship.

Applicants must be: Current high school (or home-schooled) seniors attending school in the United States (or select DoD schools); U.S. Citizens; U.S. Nationals; U.S. Permanent Residents; Refugees; Asylees; Cuban-Haitian Entrants; or Humanitarian Parolees; Anticipating completion of high school diploma at the time of application; Planning to pursue a degree at an accredited U.S. post-secondary institution; and Carrying a minimum 3.00 GPA at the end of their junior year of high school.

Photos left to right: Daniel Crair, Bruna Decerega and Rachael Osman .

POSSE Scholarship Winners

January 3, 2017 – Miami, Florida Coral Reef Senior High School is proud to announce five  POSSE Scholarship Winners.  These outstanding seniors with their POSSE are:  Jonathan Nicoleau (Davidson); Mario Garcia (Syracuse University); Sara Sarmiento (Mount Holyoke College); Maria Medina (Hamilton College);  Christabel Egemba (Pomona College); and Nicole Arce (Pomona College).

The Posse Foundation has identified, recruited and trained 6,993 public high school students with extraordinary academic and leadership potential to become Posse Scholars. Since 1989, these students—many of whom might have been overlooked by traditional college selection processes—have been receiving four-year, full-tuition leadership scholarships from Posse’s partner institutions of higher education.

The Posse Partner schools from Miami are: Davidson, Franklin and Marshall College, Hamilton, Mt. Holyoke, Pomona, and Syracuse University. Most important, Posse Scholars graduate at a rate of 90 percent and make a visible difference on campus and throughout their professional careers.

Photos left to right: Nicole Arce, Maria Medina, Sara Sarmiento, Mario Garcia, Jonathan Nicoleau, and Christabel Egemba.