Archive for April, 2017

Salute to Education, Inc. Winners

Miami, FloridaApril 19, 2017 – Through a unique partnership with the community in South Florida, the Miami-Dade and Broward County Ford and Lincoln Dealers and Ford Motor Company have awarded over $3.7 million in scholarships to more than 4,300 deserving public and private high school seniors in both counties.

Salute to Education, Inc., established in 1994, is a non-profit organization funded through dealership contributions and corporate support from Ford Motor Company. In addition, the program receives support from a Scholarship Committee composed of Ford and Lincoln dealers and business, educational and civic leaders who take time out of their schedules to judge the scholarship applications.  Community volunteer participation has been an integral part of the campaign’s success.

Congratulations to Juan Garcia  and Anderson Leal as they each received the scholarship in the amount of $1,000 designated only for tuition and other educational at the college/university they will be attending. Juan will be attenFord Saluteding the University of Florida and Anderson will be attending Loyola University – New Orleans.

Scholarship applications are judged based on the following criteria: Community Involvement, Academic Achievement, Demonstrated Leadership, Quality of Character, Life Goals & Interests, Obstacles Overcome, and Meaningful Objectives Achieved.  A special thank you to Ms. Lou Gillman, CAP Advisor at Coral Reef Senior High School as she announced Juan and Anderson, their category and the respective academy – Anderson Leal – ARTS: Performing Arts and Visual Arts  – Drama and Juan Garcia, SCIENCES: Natural Science – International Baccalaureate.

Photo attached: Juan Garcia and Anderson Leal


March 14, 20 1 4 – New York New York – Congratulations to two Coral Reef Senior High School graduating seniors, Nuria Dolphin and Samantha Smith, as they were recognized by The Alliance for You ng Artists & Writers as 2017 Scholastic Art & Writing Award National  Medalists. In addition, the school received recognition for leadership, faculty’s efforts, and the school’s dedication to education in the creative arts.  Nuria received a Silver Medal and Samantha received a Silver Medal with Distinction.

National Medalists represent the top I % of submissions to the 2017 Scholastic Awards. This year students submitted 18,800 works of art and writing. About 17,000 submissions received Gold Keys – the top honor at the regional level. Only 2,740 Medals were awarded at the national level!

Hundreds of thousands of young people have been recognized through the Awards since the program began in 1923. Among t hem are some of America’s most respected artistic and literary talents.  Richard Avedon, Truman Capote, Lena Dunham. Bernard Malamud, Joyce Maynard, Joyce Carol Oates, Philip Pearlstein, Sylvia Plath, Robert Redford, and Andy Warhol all earned Scholastic Awards as high school students.

All National Medalists are   invited to attend the annual National Events in New York City, with the National Ceremony taking place at Carnegie Hall and a series of student showcase events. Art work and writing from National Medalists will also be featured in the National Exhibition at Parsons School of Design at The New School and Pratt Institute’s Pratt Manhattan Gallery. The exhibition will be on display J u ne 2 through June 1 2.